Uncategorized

The Key to Happiness. Really.

I have the hardest time going to sleep. Seriously. Last night for example, I laid in my bed WIDE AWAKE until 5 AM! I blame my fiancés horrific snoring. It’s like sleeping next to a tug boat with a super sized air horn.
I’m. Not. Exaggerating.

But I digress… Anyway, all of this lovely alone time in the middle of the night makes for some nice reflection time. Last night my focus was on being happy.

How can one achieve “happy”? If one isn’t raised around happy parents and gleeful family members how do they know what to do when they’re on their own and miserable? I’ve never had any major issues with finding joy in my life. I was raised by parents who taught me that I always had something to be happy about. However, I’ve had the normal “my life sucks” and “oh, pity me for my life is treacherous” moments that most people do at some point. Also, I have encountered many people in my life–whose names will go unmentioned–that I have literally wanted to (1) grab, (2) shake vigorously and (3) scream “DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT THERE ARE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WONDERING WHERE THEIR GOING TO SLEEP TONIGHT?!”
Lucky for you guys, I generally control myself. :)

I know how you can be happy. I can help you with that. I can’t do it for you (hello, I’m not magical), but I can give you instructions that should really help. So pay attention, my lovely readers. :)

1. You have got to understand that MONEY is NOT EQUAL to HAPPINESS. If you base your level of happiness on how much money you have you will never be happy. You may THINK you are happy, but if your “happiness” can fade with the swipe of a card then it’s not real happiness. When you have real happiness you can roll with the punches and still keep a smile on your face. Like this -> :D
Hebrew 13:5 (RSV) “Keep your life free from the love of money, and be content with what you have.”

2. You need to understand that bad things happen to happy people.
DON’T EXIT OUT OF MY BLOG!
Who likes it when bad things happen? …Yeah, me either. No one does! But happiness isn’t about what kind of hand you’re dealt. It’s about what YOU chose to DO with what you’re dealt. For example, my car right now… it has a headlight out, the radio is messed up, my outlet where I plug in my phone charger doesn’t work, and the transmission is doing some crazy stuff. Fantastic, right? A few nights ago I was pulling into my yard and because of my nonexistent headlight I ran up on a humongous rock. And my car got stuck on it. And a piece of my car broke off. (I think I probably just sounded really stupid.. I don’t understand cars). You’re average unhappy person would have jumped out cursing and kicking the car. Perhaps they would have even kicked the rock which I imagine would hurt. Then not only would they be unhappy but they would also be in pain. See the domino effect there? So what did you do, Claire? Well, after I got over the initial shock I thought about a bad wreck I had seen a week or so earlier. Right near my house. I was blessed to have made it home alive. A car is a possession. It’s like money. It makes life easier, but it doesn’t control my happiness. So I got over it. I wasn’t happy that it happened, but I was happy I hadn’t hit something that could have caused me injury. God wants you to be happy. Keep your faith and keep your head up. Sometimes bad things happen to teach you something. To make you stronger. Sometimes all it takes to change your situation is a change of outlook. *GASP!* Mmmmmhm.

3. Enjoy the simple things!
I know you’ve heard it a million and one times: “one day you’ll realize the little things in life *dramatic pause* were actually the big things.” Don’t roll your eyes. It’s true. Let me clarify. It’s 4 PM right now, at this moment more than 106,000 people have died today. (http://www.worldometers.info/) Lets just take a moment to thank the Lord for every day we’re given to live on his masterpiece. We get so caught up in our lives, working, making money, making progress progress progress, working some more to make money and progress. Where is the enjoyment? When do you people smell the roses? Yeah, we’re progressing alright. Progressing through our lives without taking the time to ENJOY it. I think this is one of the most important parts of being happy. When you learn to enjoy the simple things you will be able to find something to sing about no matter what your situation is at the present time. In fact, I’ll help you start. Here are SOME (nowhere near all) the simple things I’m happy about: the Bible, pillows, blankets, beds, bras, books, dogs, food, sunshine, rain, oxygen, clean water, sweet potatoes, the change of seasons, love notes, shoes, shady trees, candles, soap and coca-cola. See how easy that is? A lot of those things are FREE OF CHARGE. Heck yes, my friends. heck. yes.

With all of that said, I will close here. This isn’t the last you’ll hear about happiness from me. This is important to me. Happiness is something that we can all have. There aren’t any tangible requirements. Yet people complain about not having it as if you have to go take out a loan and work a miracle to get it. Not true. God wants us to be happy, he designed a plan for our lives that will make us prosper and have HOPE for a future (Jeremiah 29:11). Believe that, have faith in that, follow his will which is perfect, enjoy the simple things you’ve been blessed with and I guarantee you will be as Phil Robertson says, “happy happy happy.”

Proverbs 17:22 – “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

I want to hear about the little things that make you happy! Write me in the comments or email me at clairebrownblog@gmail.com.

Until Next Time,
Claire

2 thoughts on “The Key to Happiness. Really.

  1. Btw, after writing this I got a call from the car dealership… blown transmission.
    The bright side? I don’t have to buy gas for a while! Maybe by the time I get a new car gas prices will be down… lol. :)

I'd love to get your feedback!

