Uncategorized

Life is ALL about relationships…

All the single ladies be like: “No girl, that is SO not true.”

Hmmm…

One week ago today I would have said the exact same thing! In fact, one week ago today I DID say pretty much that exact same thing.

For those of you who don’t know, I help manage the restaurant that my fiance owns. After a long and laborious Labor Day Weekend our kitchen manager quit… on Labor Day… Completely unexpected. Talk about stressful situations! But I digress… I’ve found out that the most awesome and insightful blog posts usually come from the most sticky situations. So here I am, one week later with a completely new outlook on the relationships in my life. It was on Labor Day–as I was sitting in the restaurant thinking to myself “I bet these kinds of events are why people become alcoholics”–that a server came to me and said “Ya know, life is all about relationships. Some are good and some are bad. Sometimes you’ve just got to let go and start new.” DING! For a split second I was like “Psh, yeah life is so NOT all about relationships” but as I began to think deeper about those words it became more and more clear to me that I was wrong (I don’t usually admit to this, someone take a screenshot!). Life IS actually ALL about relationships. Let me change your perspective on this idea…

First of all, when we hear “relationship” we tend to think boyfriend, girlfriend, husband, or wife. Why do we do that?! Why are our thoughts so limited? Expand your mind people! You can live under a dang rock and still be in a relationship! You have your relationship with God Almighty for one, He’s always there! Then you have relationships with your mom, dad, siblings, co-workers, managers, friends, pets, neighbors, acquaintances, teachers, your barista at Starbucks. I could go on and on… You even have a relationship with… *drumroll*… YOU! OMGSH, there’s an idea! Who would have thought? You know you better than anyone knows you! You are like your BFF!

Now to get serious, I’m going to talk about two types of relationships in this post. Let’s start with the single most important relationship you will ever EVER have. Your relationship with Jesus. How can you have relationships with people but not have one with the One who died to save your soul? To me it seems impossible. 1 Peter 5:6-7 says, “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety upon Him, because He cares for you.” God wants to have a relationship with you. He wants you to take all your worries, regrets, sadness and cast it upon Him. What do you think of when you hear the word “cast”? I’m from a fishing community so I think of a cast net. When you throw a cast net you put some umph into it and throw it as far as you can possibly throw it. What an amazing friend we have in Jesus. He wants us to gather up our sorrows and CAST (Umph!) them upon Him. Wow. Just wow. How remarkable is that? Please tell me which one of your earthly friends would be willing to let you throw cast nests full of troubles onto them…

Yeah, that’s what I thought. I have some amazing Godly friends and family but I’m pretty sure if I walked up to my friend, Karli, and was like “Hi, Karli here’s my troubles, I’ll let you take it from here. Good luck!” she would look at me like I was crazy.

Jesus DIED for you while you were still a sinner. I’m a sinner. You’re a sinner. We are all sinners, we’re all “bad.” But Jesus is faithful to forgive us and He continuously LOVES us despite all our flaws. Now that is a love that is far beyond my mental capacity. He loves us more than I can even begin to imagine. I’ll say it again, your relationship with Jesus Christ is the single most important and rewarding relationship you can have. Period.

Then you have your relationship with your husband or wife. This is a very important relationship because this is the one person that you have chosen to have by your side for the rest of your life. God has placed this person in your life to be your partner, to be joined as ONE with you. God wants you to enjoy all of His beautiful creations and have someone by your side to enjoy it with! (He’s so genuinely nice like that!) Unfortunately, I feel like marriage just isn’t taken as seriously as it used to be and should be. People seem as if they aren’t understanding the meaning of “for better or for worse” or “for richer or poorer.” People fall in love, get married, and as soon as they stumble upon a hard time (which is bound to happen eventually) they jump ship. That is so not the right way to do it. Marriage is a unity that was created by God, and it should be treated as such. It’s something special and beautiful. It should be nurtured and cherished. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 says, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” If all marriages applied these four verses to their love life do you think 50% of first time marriages in America would end in divorce? I don’t. I know that no relationship is “perfect.” We all have our quirks and problematic tendencies that need to be worked on. I, for example, am really bad about bringing up things from the past. I’m all like “remember that time 500 years ago when you said such and such… yeah, I’m still mad about it!” Okay, so it’s not EXACTLY like that, but you get the idea. Obviously I need to focus on the “love keeps no record of wrongs” part of the verses. We should try to be more like Christ in our marriages. Does God keep a checklist of all the bad things every human has ever done? No. When we confess and ask forgiveness it is GONE. Forever forgotten. That’s how we should be in our marriages. When we forgive one another that should be the end of the issue. Cast it out and forget about it! Β And another thing, I have to bring this up, I am so tired of seeing wives trashing their husbands on Facebook and Twitter. When did that become a trend? I’m clearly behind, but from what I see posted it doesn’t look like I’m missing a lot. If you have a problem with your husband, take care of it with YOUR HUSBAND. Not all of your followers on Twitter. I see it from ladies more than from men, but regardless it is wrong. It’s not humorous and it definitely doesn’t help your marriage. Take care of your issues together, face to face, in your home. It’s no one else’s business. Treat marriage like it’s a gift from God, because well… it is.

 

I know I only touched on two of the MANY types of relationships in the world, but I believe the two I picked are the two most important. I also believe all good relationships in life flow from first having a good relationship with He who created you. I encourage you to go out into the world and look at everyone as more than just a stranger or a passer by. Look at people as if they were all your neighbor. Go out of your comfort zone and help someone that you don’t know with something. Develop relationships from unexpected circumstances. Let your life and the way you treat people be an example to others. Be different!

Enjoy your week! <3

I'd love to get your feedback!

