Uncategorized

Homemade Dog Treats

Happy end of another Monday, everyone!

This blog post is all about my best friend, Hailee. She is the sweetest, cuddliest, kindest, cutest, most energetic and loving person–I mean dog–I know. 

I was never a dog person growing up, but when I met Hailee that all changed. I would do just about anything for her. I think I may even like her more than Dustin… don’t tell him I said that of course. ;)

I have been wanting to make homemade dog treats for Hailee for a long time but never got around to it until recently. I mean I bake cookies for Dustin. It only seems right that Hailee gets the same royal treatments. :)

And since making them… I AM A CHANGED WOMAN! I will never, NEVER, buy dog treats ever again. These are so quick, simple and cheap. Best of all, you know exactly what goes into them so you don’t have to worry about any by-products or harmful additives. 

So here’s what you’ll need:
-2 cups of Flour
-1 cup of Oats
-1 1/3 cups of Peanut Butter
-1 1/4 cups of hot water

Image

That’s it. I bought everything I needed at Dollar General and the PB was the most expensive ingredient because I went for the jumbo jar and it was $5. So my grand total was about $8-$9. A lot cheaper than $30 which is what I recently saw a bag of dog treats going for… 

First you’re going to need to preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Then, in a large bowl mix the flour and oats. Image

When that’s mixed well, add the peanut butter and the hot water.

Now get your hands in there and knead that dough! 

When it’s all combined well, lay it on a flat surface and roll (or just smash it like I did) to about 1/4″ thickness. I thought I would need to flour my counter tops because of the sticky peanut butter but you do not have to. It doesn’t stick at all. I think this is because of all the flour and oats in the mix but don’t quote me. I really have no clue. Just a guess. 

Image

Now you’re going to use cookie cutters to cut out your dog treats. I got some really cute bone, dog and paw print shaped cookie cutters at Wal-Mart for $2.47.  

Image

I used the bone and paw print ones because I felt using the one shaped like a dog was a little cannibalistic. 

Now you’re going to place your treats on a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes, until golden brown. 

Image

 

Hailee was so patient during the baking process. She layed on the floor looking “oh so deserving of a treat” the whole time. 

Image

You’re house is going to smell like peanut butter cookies and you may even be able to trick your family into eating one… My family knows me well enough that it didn’t work for me. ;) 

Hailee on the other hand, was totally open to eating my “peanut butter cookies.” She loved them! She has already gone through the first batch in a little over a week so I’m about to make some more. 

These are better than any dog treat out there, Hailee told me so. 

Enjoy!

One thought on “Homemade Dog Treats

  1. I found your post comments while searching Google. It is very relevant information. Great work. Regularly I do not make posts on blogs, but I have to say that this posting really forced me to do so. Really awesome post. Really fantastic and I will be coming back for more information at your site and revisit it! Homemade Dog Treats.

I'd love to get your feedback!

