Uncategorized

Taken for Granted

From the moment I woke up today I was drowning in self-pity, as I do every Monday and Wednesday, because I had to go to statistics class tonight. I am not a numbers person. I’m a words person. I spent the entire day looking at the clock… only 2 hours before I have to go to class… and so on.

I was so miserable that I left early for class so that I could stop and get a coffee in hopes that it would help me sustain life through the longest hour and fifteen minutes of my week. It helped. A little.

It wasn’t until I was out of class and on my way home that it occurred to me… I am SO blessed to be able to attend college.
I may not always enjoy it but it’s an opportunity that I received fairly easy. For some it isn’t as easy, for some it’s not an option.
Suddenly I felt ashamed of myself for ever being so negative towards one of my blessings.

Then I realized that’s not the only blessing I take for granted. In fact, I take a lot of blessings for granted.

God has done so much for me and given me so much. And the thing is, I don’t deserve any of it.

There are so many things in my life, both tangible and intangible, that I just kind of… expect to have/feel. And I think a lot of people are the same way about things they have in life.

Today, try to take a step back and think about all the things in your life that are blessings. Do you take a lot of those things for granted?

I'd love to get your feedback!

