Uncategorized

Christmas Songs that “Get It”

Image

 

I love Christmas music. I’ve been playing it since Halloween.Christmas songs are good for the soul! 

I especially love Christmas songs that declare the true meaning of Christmas.

Christ.

I have nothing against Santa. In fact, I’m rather fond of the guy. Santa is a really fun tradition. I have so many childhood memories of laying awake on Christmas Eve, staring out my bedroom window, thinking that if I stared into the sky long enough I would surely see Santa’s sleigh pulled by his reindeer. 

My parents would actually go out and make reindeer and sleigh tracks in our yard on Christmas Eve for me and my sister to see in the morning. It was incredibly fun and I can’t wait to “go all out” like that on Christmas with my future children. 

While Santa is fun, he isn’t the reason we celebrate and I think it’s important that we don’t lose sight of that. Santa is a myth. Jesus’ birth on the other hand, that’s real. 

Jesus is the reason for the season. It’s not about receiving presents, it’s about the most amazing present the world has ever received… the Son of God himself. 

Here’s my Top 10 list of Christmas Songs that celebrate the King’s birth.

1. Away in a Manger 
2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing!
3. Silent Night
4. O Holy Night
5. Once in Royal David’s City
6. The First Noel
7. O Come, All Ye Faithful!
8. Joy to the World!
9. Angels We Have Heard On High (My Favorite!)
10. The First Noel

Again, there’s nothing wrong with Deck the Halls or Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town. Those are awesome songs, too! Just don’t let them make you thing that Santa is the reason for the season, because he most certainly is not. 

TheMessiah is.

I'd love to get your feedback!

