Uncategorized

I Admire Young Women with Husbands and Kids and I’m Not Sorry. — Response to blog post by Amy Glass.

Image

I was scrolling through my Facebook feed earlier today when I came across a very controversial blog rant shared by a page I like. The article is by a fellow blogger, Amy Glass, and sports this friendly title in big, black, bold letters: “I Look Down On Young Women With Husbands And Kids And I’m Not Sorry.” You can read it here, if you’d like…

In the post Glass speaks out about how women who choose to get married and be moms are not doing anything great. She says, “These [getting married and having children] aren’t accomplishments.” She also says that anyone who chooses this lifestyle is settling for average. “If women can do anything, why are we still content with applauding them for doing nothing?”
Really, nothing?

She declares that if you have a husband and kids that you will NEVER by exceptional. You will never have the time or energy to do anything above average. Basically, once you reproduce that first time you are considered a waste of space.

The most insulting part of the whole thing was probably this: “I hear women talk about how “hard” it is to raise kids and manage a household all the time. I never hear men talk about this. It’s because women secretly like to talk about how hard managing a household is so they don’t have to explain their lack of real accomplishments. Men don’t care to “manage a household.” They aren’t conditioned to think stupid things like that are “important.””

Excuse me? Lack of real accomplishments? Stupid things like raising a family?

I don’t have kids and I’m not married just yet. However, I found this blog post incredibly offensive. Ever since I can remember I’ve always thought having a big huge family had to be one of the best things in the world. (I grew up in a large family and regardless of what Amy thinks, life is far from “average” when you have a big family). I admire women who raise large families well. Who have five boys or girls of all ages and turn them into young ladies and gentlemen one by one, all while maintaining her home,  nurturing her relationship with her husband, having at least one job, being involved in the community and going to church on Sunday. (Have you ever tried to get five kids ready for church in the morning? I haven’t but I imagine it’s interesting).

Also, when it comes to the statement about how moms will NEVER be “exceptional,” I only have two words: Sarah Palin.
She was the woman that came to mind when I read that line. Mom of five, former Governor of Alaska, politician, commentator, author, television host and she was the first female Republican to ever be nominated for vice presidency. Yeah Amy, you’re right, Sarah Palin and women similar to her are SO average due to their children. Forget all those other achievements, “ain’t nobody got time for that!”

According to Salary.com, a stay-at-home mom is worth a salary of more than $112,000 per year and works an average of 94.7 hours per week. That’s the incredible thing about these women, they take no tangible gain or reward for their efforts even though they deserve it. They get no paycheck. They are satisfied and fulfilled by their family and the love that circulates through it. In the end I think those are the things that really matter, especially for moms. Life’s not about the money in your bank account or how many times you’ve hiked across Asia alone. It’s about the laughs you’ve started, the tears you’ve dried, the boo-boos you’ve fixed, the lunches you’ve packed, the soccer practices, the dance recitals and the hours of sleep you miss oh so badly. It’s about waiting up until their curfew, even if you fall asleep in the recliner while doing so. It’s about seeing them grow and learn, graduate and go to college, get married, have their own family, all the while knowing that YOU created and shaped that little human into the person they are now.

THAT is admirable. THAT is beautiful. THAT is an achievement.

To all the women who want to get married one day and have kids, good for you! Do that. If your main goal in life is to raise a family in a home filled with love and to mold them into commendable citizens then I think you’re on the right track. I admire you for that selflessness and dedication to your future family. I bet you’ll be an awesome mom.

And to all of you moms out there, thank you for the countless hours you put in to raising your family. Thank you for passing down values and traditions. Thank you for your dedication and the unconditional love that you’ve shared. You are an incredible woman.

 

I want to know your opinions on this topic, leave me comments!
God bless!

11 thoughts on “I Admire Young Women with Husbands and Kids and I’m Not Sorry. — Response to blog post by Amy Glass.

  1. Thank You. Amy Glass’s blog was pretty offensive. I got married at 21 and have had 3 kids. Now i am both a stay at home mom and in school for Pharmacology. I will be exceptional because i will have done both, raised kids and got a career. So UNTIL this Amy Glass gets a husband or has children, she should keep her blogs about stuff she knows instead of being ignorant. I LOVED your article.

  2. Thank you for a well written response. I am a widowed and remarried father. I brought 2 little boys to my new marriage and my wife brought her 4. All of us live full time together as one big family. It is beyond rewarding and tough. My wife is an RN who has climbed very high in management ranks, because the hours suited her kids. She has made every career move based on how it will best work for the kids. She wants nothing more than to stay home with them and just work part time. She gives and gives and never takes or does for herself. This lady in her blog is so deluded or brainwashed that I feel pity for her and will pray for her heart to open up. Anyone can have a job and climb the ladder. Being a mom and wife never ends. It is the quenissential 25/7/365 job. My wife has also been a good loving and devoted wife through some challenges that would have broken most other women (lawsuits from family, financial issues, etc). I have seen the finest in what a woman can be and I am honored that she is my wife. That lady who blogged her spiteful, elitist comments has no idea how off base she truly is. God bless my wife and all the supportive, loving and unselfish wives and mothers out there.

  3. Well said.
    Sadly, this country has too many like “Amy Glass.” Self-absorbed, narcissistic, intolerant, petulant, childish people.
    Her loss not having children. I wasn’t complete, I now realize, until not our first, but our THIRD, came along. Our only little girl.

I'd love to get your feedback!

