Uncategorized

A new Christmas tradition

It has happened! What you ask? Today the temperature finally dropped below 70 degrees in Florida. It’s about time! I was starting to think I was going to have to buy AR a new wardrobe as most of his 18 month clothes are intended for colder weather.. But today, we finally got to break out the fleece and hoodies! It was wonderful.

I love Christmas time and all of it’s possibilities for new and old traditions. This year is our second Christmas as a family of three and I really wanted to start something that could be just between my husband and I. Once you have children, you may (unintentionally) push yourself and your spouse to the back burner during the holidays. While I do love being a parent and celebrating Christmas with my son, I think it’s just as important to have some way of celebrating that is just between the parents.

That’s why this year my husband and I have decided that we will exchange gifts on Christmas Eve after AR has gone to bed. I’m so excited to have that time together. We also decided to start a Christmas ornament exchange, which is what I’m writing to tell you about. Every year we will buy each other an ornament that represents some memory we’ve had together from the year.ย  You can make this as elaborate or as simple as you like, you can even make your own ornament if you wanted (and have the time).

Think of what an awesome tree you and your spouse will have in 5 years! And every year when you go to decorate it you’ll be able to reminisce on some of your favorite moments together.

I got my husband’s ornament online from Bronners in Frankenmuth, Mi. They have almost every ornament you can possibly imagine and they can personalize most of them (for FREE). While it can be pricey to order from them online (due to shipping costs), I love them because they’re a company that honors the true meaning of Christmas time–Christ’s birth. I don’t mind paying a little extra to support such a wonderful group of people. You can check them outย here.

What are some of your Christmas traditions? I’d love to hear about them.

I hope you guys have the Merriest Christmas!
God Bless!

I'd love to get your feedback!

